Picture
Confessions of a Natural hair Stylist - I fear build up in my locks and sometimes my hair looks dull :-{
So mission for the next 6 week - eliminate dullness and buildup recurrence.

The History of my build up:
In the 1st few years of my locks (she's 4 yrs old this March!!) I had no idea there was such a thing! I was a salon rat and trusted my hair's health in their hands. Problem: Salons' main mission is make you leave the salon looking fly, feeling fly and having the strong desire to come back in a couple weeks to recreate that feeling? :-) How is that achieved? - gels/waxes/keep-all-your-hair-in-place products. The majority of these products are not removed with a simple wash service. Result : Build up! By year 2 of my locks I was her sole caregiver. That's when I discovered ACV rinses! Lifestyle of my locks got turnt up! Who knew my hair could be that black :-D But then she got dull again - what?! Hence this mission.

Previous Routine:
I shampooed strictly with diluted black soap, no commercial conditioners, strictly natural oils and I employ the LOC (liquid - water, oil - jojoba or coconut, creme( heavier oil) - olive oil) method to seal in the moisture.

Pictured above is my first go with the New Routine: Baking soda paste (baking soda and water mixed to the consistency of a creamy face wash, slather that all over my locks (avoiding the scalp), rinse/spray with diluted apple cider vinegar - to activate deep cleansing power of the two (I literally hear them reacting - fizzing and bubbling and chasing away build up!). Finally I rinse with water. after 30 minutes - to an hour in a cotton tee my locks are ready for some LOCing!
* I avoid my scalp because I have sensitive skin and baking soda can burn if it comes in contact with my skin too long. To ensure my scalp is clean I only rub the residual baking soda on scalp after my locks are completely coated. I amp up scalp care with brown sugar scrubs as well.

For the next Month and half I will be filling you in on the benefits (or pitfalls) of this new Cleansing Routine. Stay tuned :-D

Lock Good, Feel Good!



Comments are closed.

    Author

    As founder of Happy Go Locky natural hair care is a passion of mine. "Bad Hair" is a term never used at HGL. No one has bad hair! Everyone needs to find the correct care techniques for their hair type and life style. Happy Go Locky will meet you where you are, literally, and assess and implement a hair regimen that will make you see your hair's full potential. Remember: Lock Good, Feel Good!   

    Archives

    September 2013
    July 2013
    June 2013
    May 2013

    Categories

    All
    Friday Pep Talks
    WoW!